Skip to content

WorldCam upgrade of HXR-NX5U: Some limitations encountered

February 24, 2010

Hi All

I got a so-called WorldCam upgrade done on my Sony HXR-NX5U to enable it to do ‘PAL-land’ frame rates (25p, 50i) in addition to the ‘NTSC-land’ frame rates and 24p it already does.

Sony Professional Services in New Jersey said that I was the first client that they’d done this upgrade for, so I thought I’d share my experiences of how it works and the limitations of it.

I thought I’d find PAL-land frame rates in the  REC/OUT SET > REC FORMAT menu once the upgrade had been done. I didn’t. It took a bit of scrolling around through the OTHERS menu to find an option called 60i/50i SEL, which gave me the option to say YES to change to 50i frame rates (in other words, PAL-land frame rates).

Selecting this option cause the camera to reboot. About ten seconds later it was up and running with 50i and 25p frame rate options visible the REC/OUT SET > REC FORMAT menu at 1080 resolution, as well as 50p at 720 resolution — but no NTSC-land frame rates or 24p.

Recording immediately in PAL-land frame rates was not possible, however. A message appeared on the screen saying “Movie recording disabled”. It soon became clear that to record on to any of my media (the SD cards or FMU128) I would have to reformat these media (by pushing the MODE button on the lower left side of the camera and then selecting the MANAGE MEDIA option) thus losing all data on them.

In other words, you cannot record PAL-land and NTSC-land frame rates on the same media — if you want to change from one to the other you are going to have to reformat the media in between.

It’s easy enough to switch between PAL-land and NTSC-land frame rates on a WorldCam upgraded NX5, but be aware of the limitations.

Happy shooting!

Adam

PS Sony Professional Services comped my upgrade to say sorry for the hassle of me getting a possible dud camera the first time around. The WorldCam upgrade, which Sony tells me is a software and hardware upgrade, costs around US$300 in the USA.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Maciej Stasiński permalink
    May 5, 2010 8:20 pm

    Hello,
    I have a request. Sony in Chicago know nothing about the possibility to do the update Sony HXR-NX5U to PAL-land. You write in your blog that you did it in New Jersey. Can you give me a phone to service. I would be very grateful.

    Maciek from the Poland

  2. October 6, 2013 3:54 pm

    You have no idea how much time and heartache you just saved me. I owe you several beers if you are ever in Ireland. Thanks. Joseph

    • adamwelz permalink*
      October 6, 2013 5:03 pm

      Great to know! Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Smooth Slow Rec: The NX5′s slow-mo mode « Adam Welz's NXCAM Blog

Leave a Reply

