Skip to content

WARNING: Sony NEX-5N

September 20, 2011

UPDATE: Sony is offering its US customers a free ‘performance improvement’ to address the clicking problem the NEX-5N has when shooting video. Whether this is a 100% fix remains to be seen, but if you call the Sony helpline on 888-868-7392 they will email you a voucher so you can send it to them for free. According to the Sony customer care rep I spoke to, the fix will take between 5 and 7 business days to complete once your camera arrives at their facility in Laredo, Texas. I don’t know of any similar offers made elsewhere in the world.

I had boxed up my NEX-5N and was about to return it when this announcement was made, so I’ve decided to keep the unit and will be posting first impressions soon. I can already confirm that my unit clicks when shooting video with even very modest, normal movements, not just the ‘sudden’ motion that Sony claims causes the problem.

***

Hi All

I pre-ordered an NEX-5N as an experimental b-camera for my NX5 when it was announced. It arrived today from Amazon.

On taking the cam out of the box I instantly heard the awful clicking sound that has ruined the videos of many early adopters. Something is definitely loose inside.

Amazon will not take returns unless they are in unopened/pristine condition, so before I even put the battery in I called the Sony US helpline to ask if, when Sony figures out how to fix this problem, the repair will be free.

The Sony rep would only say that Sony are aware of the issue. He would not say when or if a repair would be forthcoming, and even after asking twice, would not commit to the repair being free.

So, sadly, I will be sending my NEX-5N back to Amazon without even shooting a second of footage with it, and I advise any of you to whom audio is of any consequence to cancel any orders you may have for this camera. It’s a real pity because I was really looking forward to producing some interesting images with this extremely small unit.

Sony, this is simply not good enough!

Cheers

Adam

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 8:26 pm

    I returned mine yesterday because of the same issue. Im going to upgrade to the nex7 im hoping that since there is still 2months till its release sony will make sure this clicking issue is non-exictent in the nex7

  2. tom hardwick permalink
    September 20, 2011 8:37 pm

    It’s not just the clicking of the OIS elements floating about is it Adam? All the Panasonics I’ve used have done this, but powering them up constrains the elements – presumably electromagnetically.

    tom.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

