Skip to content

Zoom rocker on Sony HXR-NX70 really bad?

August 13, 2011

Hi All

I’ve been very busy lately with small jobs and securing funding for a big project leaving me not much time to blog, but I’m still getting a lot of hits here so I’ll be adding more material as soon as I can.

I’ve been considering buying an NX70 to use alongside my NX5 – but the sample unit I tried out at B&H in New York a few days ago had a very unfriendly zoom rocker. It was impossible for me to get an even or slow zoom.

No matter how hard I tried, I could not stop the zoom from jumping in speed as it went through the range. It also went from zero to 60mph in no space at all.

It was so bad it’s made me rethink my purchasing plans, and although there are very few reviews of the NX-70 on the net, I did find a reviewer that has had the same problems as I have: http://www.hdwarrior.co.uk/2011/06/23/review-of-the-sony-hxr-nx70/

Have any readers had similar experiences? Is there a bad batch of NX70s out there or do they all have unusable zoom rockers? Your comments would be most welcome!

Cheers

Adam

3 Comments leave one →
  1. John R. permalink
    August 13, 2011 11:51 pm

    The problem has been well-documented and it appears that a firmware fix will be provided by Sony next year. I have the NX-70 and mostly use the zoom to compose shots. The zoom control on LCD screen works well and I use that to compose while shooting interviews indoors. Composing outside and on the run is a bit more problematic.

    Other than that, I’ve been very happy with the camera. In the wide angle mode, the active steady shot rivals a steadycam. And when you remove the xlr inputs it’s light as a feather and does not attract attention. It’s nice being able to shoot outside without being bothered by the police or other onlookers. The video quality a big screen is amazing. With the onboard memory and an inexpensive SD card I can shoot forever. For me it has a very high fun factor. It’s the type of camera I can bring everywhere and I do.

    • adamwelz permalink*
      August 14, 2011 2:05 am

      Hi John

      Is there an online reference I can link to regarding the firmware update to fix the zoom rocker issues?

      A

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

